In the past five years, Massachusetts has enacted various statutes involving estates, trusts and probate which affect the practice of real estate, including the Massachusetts Homestead Statute, the Massachusetts Durable Power of Attorney Statute, the Massachusetts Uniform Principal and Income Act, the Massachusetts Uniform Trust Code, the Massachusetts Uniform Probate Code, without any significant input from the Real Estate Bar.

Apart from legislation, there are numerous issues real estate practitioners face within the Massachusetts Probate Court system when titles involve probate, such as lost files and delayed service.

The mission of this section is to provide a mechanism to provide meaningful input into legislation and proposed legislation that affect the practice of real estate even though legislation primarily is focused on probate, trusts and estate taxes. Additionally, the committee will provide input to the Probate Courts to facilitate the real estate practice as it relates to probate, titles and related matters. In order to accomplish this, the section will draw upon the expertise of Real Estate Bar Association Section members and the membership at large.

Finally, the section believes that through education and sharing of knowledge by real estate practitioners and trust and estate planning practitioners, the citizens of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, who are the ultimate consumers of the services we provide, will be better served.

Officers

Staff
Nicole Cohen
The Real Estate Bar Association
295 Devonshire Street, Floor 6
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 854-7555
(617) 854-7570
cohen@reba.net
Co-Chair
Leo J. Cushing Esq., CPA, LL.M.
Cushing & Dolan, PC - Waltham Office
375 Totten Pond Road, Suite 200
Waltham, MA 02451
(617) 523-1555
(617) 523-5653
lcushing@cushingdolan.com
Co-Chair
A. Miriam Jaffe Esq.
Schlesinger & Buchbinder, LLP
1200 Walnut Street
Newton, MA 02461
(617) 965-3500
(617) 965-6824
mjaffe@sab-law.com

Members

Karen A. Adamski Esq.
O'Brien & Adamski, Attorneys at Law
25 Main Street
Post Office Box 205
Easthampton, MA 01027
(413) 527-4600
(413) 529-9666
attorneykadamski@gmail.com
Richard E. Cavanaugh Esq.
Common Grow, LLC
203 East Street
Petersham, MA 01366
(978) 724-3311
rich@commongrow.com
Richard A. Cella Esq.
65 Pleasant Street
Post Office Box 297
Leominster, MA 01453
978-537-8214
978-840-1124
racella@comcast.net
Joseph A. Coluntino Jr., Esq.
Butters Brazilian LLP
699 Boylston Street, 12th Floor
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 367-2600
joecoluntino@gmail.com
Kenneth A. Cossingham Esq.
Cossingham Law Office, P.C.
30 Massachusetts Ave, Suite 404
North Andover, MA 01845
978-685-5686
978-794-0985
kcossingham@cossinghamlaw.com
Mary Clare Costello Esq.
Tomassian & Tomassian
122 Upper Main Street
Post Office Box 5157
Edgartown, MA 02539
(508) 627-3334
mcc@mvtomassianlaw.com
Barry R. Crimmins Esq.
Law Offices of Barry R. Crimmins
909 Washington Street
Stoughton, MA 02072
(781) 344-2886
(781) 341-4218
barry@brc-law.com
Sara Goldman Curley Esq.
Nutter, McClennen & Fish, LLP - Boston Office
Seaport West
155 Seaport Boulevard
Boston, MA 02210
(617) 439-2264
(617) 310-9309
scurley@nutter.com
J. Westerman Davis Jr., Esq.
Sheehan, Schiavoni, Jutras and Magliocchetti, LLP
70 Bailey Boulevard
Haverhill, MA 01830
(978) 994-2788
wdavis@ssjmattorneys.com
David L. Delaney Esq.
Delaney & Muncey, P.C.
38 Resnik Road, Suite 300
Plymouth, MA 02360
(508) 746-2200
(508) 830-0917
ddelaney@delaney-muncey.com
Marc R. Deshaies Esq.
Law Office of Marc R. Deshaies, PC
Captain Henry S. Taber House
115 Orchard Street
New Bedford, MA 02740
(508) 993-2300
marc@marcdeshaieslaw.com
Noel M. Di Carlo Esq., At-Large
Warshaw, Di Carlo & Associates, P.C.
77 Newbury Street, Fourth Floor
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 262-7800
(617) 395-2706
ndicarlo@warshawlaw.com
Kathleen A. Fahey Esq.
Kathleen A. Fahey, Attorney at Law
214 Main Street
Groton, MA 01450
(617) 605-5735
(978) 910-0230
kathy@attorneykfahey.com
Hua Fan Esq.
197M Boston Post Road, Unit 209
Marlborough, MA 01752
(571) 970-7842
hfan68@gmail.com
Jennifer T. Fleming Esq.
Prince Lobel Tye LLP
One International Place, Suite 3700
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 456-8058
(617) 456-8100
jfleming@princelobel.com
Les L. Hoiberg Esq.
McGowan Hoiberg Law Group, PA
800 Hingham Street Suite 200 South
Rockland, MA 02370
(781) 878-1166
les@mhlawgroup.com
Michael L. Kaplan Esq.
Law Office of Michael Kaplan
Eight Clarendon Street
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 266-7271
(617) 536-3790
michael@michaelkaplanlaw.com
Shawn D. Keefe Esq.
Connors & Connors, LLP
Six Lexington Street, Third Floor
Waltham, MA 02452
(781) 894-6000
(781) 894-6848
skeefe@connorslaws.com
Michael T. Lahti Esq.
Lahti, Lahti & O'Neill, LLC
One Richmond Square, Suite 303N
Providence, RI 02906
(401) 331-0808
(508) 992-8678
michael.lahti@comcast.net
Paul D. Lambert Esq.
Law Office of Paul D. Lambert
Post Office Box 892
401 Andover Street, Suite 201-B
North Andover, MA 01845
(844) 773-2552
(877) 396-5164
pdllaw@comcast.net
Erica Lynn Larence Esq.
Law Office of Erica L. Larence, LLC
11 Robert Toner Boulevard
Suite Five, PMB 202
North Attleborough, MA 02760
(401) 742-4163
erica@larencelaw.com
Marie T. Lee Esq.
McCue, Lee & Greene, LLP
585 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 236-0212
(617) 236-0797
mlee@mlglawfirm.com
Sarah J. Long Esq.
Long Legal Group, LLC
Post Office Box 3288
Waquoit, MA 02536
(508) 289-1155
(508) 437-8404
sarah@longlegalgroup.com
Isaac M. Machado Esq.
Law Office of Isaac M. Machado
421 Highland Avenue
Somerville, MA 02144
(617) 625-6500
(617) 625-6502
Isaac@machadolawfirm.com
Paul A. Magliocchetti Esq.
Sheehan, Schiavoni, Jutras and Magliocchetti, LLP
70 Bailey Boulevard
Haverhill, MA 01830
(978) 373-9161
pmagliocchetti@ssjmattorneys.com
Priscilla Ann Malboeaf Esq.
Beauport Law, LLC
55 Main Street
Gloucester, MA 01930
(978) 281-0812
priscilla@beauportlaw.com
Justin Brian McCarthy Esq.
McCarthy Legal Group
275 Grove Street, Suite 2400
Newton, MA 02466
(617) 332-1633
jbm@mccarthylegalgroup.com
Robert G. Moore Esq.
Law Office of Robert G. Moore
42 Main Street
Post Office Box 612
Mattapoisett, MA 02739
(508) 758-2403
(508) 758-9582
RG235@comcast.net
Joanna Alexenah Morris Esq.
J.A.Morris & Associates, P.C.
Post Office Box 870011
Milton Village, MA 02187
(781) 963-5552
(781) 437-8162
joannamorris@comcast.net
Gerald F. Mullen Jr. Esq.
17 Buckingham Road
Norwood, MA 02062
(781) 603-6835
gmuln88@gmail.com
Michelle M. Mulvena Esq.
Dowley & Mulvena, PC
92 High Street, Suite T32
Medford, MA 02155
(781) 395-0020
(781) 395-7220
mmulvena@dandm-law.com
Diep Thi Nguyen Esq.
Elite Title & Closing Service, LLC
2900 Pawtucket Avenue
East Providence (Riverside), RI 02915
(401) 438-0000
(401) 369-7877
dderosa@elitetitle-closing.com
Hang Nina Nguyen Esq.
Law Office of Hang Nina Nguyen, PC
1582 Dorchester Avenue
Boston (Dorchester), MA 02122
(617) 822-8088
nina@hnnlaw.com
Janice C. Nigro Esq.
Nigro, Pettepit & Lucas, LLP
649 Main Street
Wakefield, MA 01880
(781) 245-4545
(781) 245-1999
jnigro@npl-law.com
Michael S. Nuesse Esq.
Law Office of Michael S. Nuesse
115 North Street
Hingham, MA 02043
(781) 749-3440
(781) 749-9923
msn.law1@gmail.com
Virgilio R. Ong Esq.
Warshaw, Di Carlo & Associates, P.C.
77 Newbury Street, Fourth Floor
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 262-7800
(617) 395-2706
virgilio_ong@yahoo.com
David S. Raymon Esq.
Burns & Levinson, LLP - Boston Office
125 Summer Street, Eighth Floor
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 345-3000
(617) 345-3299
draymon@burnslev.com
Jillian S. Richards Esq.
Law Offices of Frank N. Dardeno, LLP
424 Broadway
Somerville, MA 02145
(617) 666-2600
jrichards@dardeno.com
Michelle Gabrielle Rosin Esq.
Moriarty Troyer & Malloy LLC - Boston Office
265 Franklin Street, Suite 1801
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 934-4577
mrosin@lawmtm.com
Jeff Ross Esq.
Ross Law Firm
Post Office Box 180005
Boston, MA 02118
(617) 338-4040
jross@ross-law.com
Morgan Alexandra Russell Esq.
McArdle Law & Associates, PLLC
280 Merrimack Street, Suite 310
Lawrence, MA 01843
(978) 681-5150
(978) 681-5152
morgan@mcardlelaw.com
Irving Salloway Esq.
Lawson & Weitzen, LLP
88 Black Falcon Avenue, Suite 345
Boston, MA 02210
(617) 439-4990
(617) 439-3987
isalloway@lawson-weitzen.com
Theresa Santoro Esq.
Cushing & Dolan, PC - Waltham Office
375 Totten Pond Road, Suite 200
Waltham, MA 02451
(617) 523-1555
(617) 523-4726
tsantoro@cushingdolan.com
Steven F. Smoot Esq.
Smoot Law Office, P.C.
Post Office Box 120245
Boston, MA 02112
(617) 345-9600
(617) 345-0880
smoot@smootlaw.com
Cynthia Frances Snow Esq.
Law Offices of Cynthia F. Snow
403 Highland Avenue, Suite 202
Davis Square, MA 02144
(617) 719-2844
Cynthia.snowlaw@gmail.com
Dale J. Tamburro Esq.
Law Office of Dale J. Tamburro
90 Concord Avenue, Third Floor
Belmont, MA 02478
(617) 489-5919
(617) 489-5840
dale@tamburrolaw.net
John Ford Tedeman Esq.
23 Trenton Street, Suite Two
Boston (Charlestown), MA 02129
(617) 835-0698
john@tedemanlaw.com
Kathryn van Colen ERPA, CPC, QPA, QKA
Advantage Retirement Plan Solutions
427 Mount Fair Circle
Swansea, MA 02777
(508) 617-9749
katie.vc@icloud.com
Stephen C. Warneck Esq.
Warneck Law Offices
Three Summer Street
Hingham, MA 02043
(781) 740-0505
steve@warnecklaw.com
George J. Warshaw Esq.
Warshaw, Di Carlo & Associates, P.C.
77 Newbury Street, Fourth Floor
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 262-7800
(617) 262-7563
gwarshaw@warshawlaw.com
Jonathan M. White Esq.
Jordan & White, LLC
70 Washington Street, Suite 312
Salem, MA 01970
(978) 744-2811
(978) 745-3351
jwhite@jordanwhitellc.com
David O. Whittemore Esq.
Law Office of David O. Whittemore
910 Boston Post Road East, Suite 170
Marlborough, MA 01752
(508) 305-2395
(508) 305-2466
dwhittemore@wwattorneys.net
Peter Wittenborg Esq.
The Real Estate Bar Association
295 Devonshire Street, Floor 6
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 854-7555
(617) 854-7570
wittenborg@reba.net
PeggyAnn Kidney Wollman Esq.
LaFountain & Wollman, P.C.
507 Mount Auburn Street
Watertown, MA 02472
(617) 926-8944
(617) 926-8942
peggyann@lafountainwollman.com
Joblin Christopher Younger Esq.
Law Office of Joblin C. Younger, P.C.
Three Ellis Square
Beverly, MA 01915
(978) 927-7238
joblin@youngertaxlaw.com
David Zhang
Boston University School of Law
765 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston, MA 02215
davidins@bu.edu