The UPL Committee fulfills one of the Association’s primary missions, combatting the unauthorized practice of law. The group has successfully led the Association through three UPL lawsuits: MCA, et al vs. Closings, Ltd, et al (1993), MCA, et al vs. Colonial Title & Escrow Company, et al (2001) and REBA vs. NREIS (2010).

The Committee remains vigilant in its efforts to protect the public from the unauthorized practice of law in real estate closings. Membership is limited, for the most part, to past officers of the Association. Although much of their work goes unreported to REBA members, the Committee is very active. The Committee also investigates complaints brought to its attention by REBA members.

This work is vital and all REBA members are strongly urged to continue to forward to the Association closing documents, including HUD settlement statements, which might indicate a violation of UPL laws.

Officers

Co-Chair
Thomas Bhisitkul Esq.
Moriarty Troyer & Malloy LLC
265 Franklin Street, Suite 1801
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 934-4603
tbhisitkul@lawmtm.com
Co-Chair
Timothy J. van der Veen Esq.
Vanderveen Law
1020 Plain Street, Suite 390
Marshfield, MA 02050
(781) 829-2003
(781) 826-7053
tim@timvanderveenlaw.com
Staff
Peter Wittenborg Esq.
The Real Estate Bar Association
295 Devonshire Street, Sixth Floor
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 854-7555
(617) 854-7570
wittenborg@reba.net

Members

Sami S. Baghdady Esq.
Baghdady Law Offices
382 Massachusetts Avenue
Arlington, MA 02474
(781) 646-7050
(781) 646-7149
sami@baghdadylaw.com
Jack Barry Gould Esq.
Gould & Gould LLP
62 Walnut Street
Wellesley, MA 02481
(781) 235-6363
781-235-3344
jack@gouldescrow.com
Richard Keshian Esq.
Kajko, Weisman & Colasanti, LLP
430 Bedford Street, Suite 390
Lexington, MA 02420
(781) 860-9500
(781) 861-1833
rkeshian@massfirm.com
Martin A. Loria Esq.
Adelson, Loria & Weisman, P.C.
20 Park Plaza, Suite 802
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 330-1625
(617) 330-1642
mloria@alwfirm.com
Michael D. MacClary Esq.
Burns & Levinson LLP
125 Summer Street, 8th Floor
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 345-3305
(617) 345-3299
mmacclary@burnslev.com
Michael R. Maloney Esq.
SKM Title & Closing Services, P.C.
378 Page Street, Suite 3
Stoughton, MA 02072
(774) 250-1800
(508) 205-6243
mmaloney@weclosetheloan.com
Robert J. Moriarty Jr., Esq.
Marsh, Moriarty, Ontell & Golder, PC
18 Tremont Street, Suite 900
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 778-5100
(617) 720-2565
rmoriarty@mmoglaw.com
Thomas O. Moriarty Esq.
Moriarty Troyer & Malloy LLC
30 Braintree Hill Office Park, Suite 205
Braintree, MA 02184
(781) 817-4603
(781) 817-4910
tmoriarty@lawmtm.com
Daniel J. Ossoff Esq.
Rackemann, Sawyer & Brewster, P.C.
160 Federal Street
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 951-1121
(617) 542-7437
dossoff@rackemann.com
Douglas W. Salvesen Esq.
Yurko, Salvesen & Remz, P.C.
One Washington Mall, 11th Floor
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 723-6900
(617) 723-6905
dsalvesen@bizlit.com