The Committee meets on a monthly basis to discuss and develop legislative initiatives of interest or concern to REBA members. The Committee, working with REBA’s legislative counsel, identifies pending legislation; where appropriate, gives testimony at public hearings at the State House; reports recommendations to REBA’s Board as to bills the Committee believes REBA should support or oppose; and in some instances, provides technical input to legislative sponsors and others in order to improve pending legislation. They have also drafted and submitted legislation recommended by REBA members.

The goal of the Committee is to support the advancement of new, well-crafted laws that will benefit conveyancers, their clients and the general public. The group welcomes input from all REBA members regarding proposals for future statutory revisions as well as feedback about pending bills of interest.

Among the committee’s recent successes have been the omnibus mortgage discharge law, the modernized homestead statute, authorization for the “permit session” of the Land Court, technical amendments to the MUPC, and provisions to insure that the notice of sale in a mortgage foreclosure include record evidence of the current holder and that the compliance affidavit be conclusive for title purposes. The Committee is also responsible for recently adopted legislation affording owners of registered land the ability to withdraw from the Torrens System.

Officers

Co-Chair
Michael F. McDonagh Esq.
Massachusetts Association of Realtors
1400 Main Street
Waltham, MA 02451
(781) 839-5520
(781) 839-5570
mike@marealtor.com
Co-Chair
Douglas A. Troyer Esq.
Moriarty Troyer & Malloy LLC
45 Braintree Hill Office Park, Suite 107
Braintree, MA 02184
(781) 817-4900
(508) 524-2761
dtroyer@lawmtm.com
Staff
Peter Wittenborg Esq.
The Real Estate Bar Association
295 Devonshire Street, Floor 6
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 854-7555
(617) 854-7570
wittenborg@reba.net

Members

Rahul Aggarwal Esq.
Three Stonehill Circle
Burlington, MA 01803
(781) 266-8076
jd.raggarwal@gmail.com
David K. Bartley Esq.
Law Office of David K. Bartley, Esq.
195 High Street
Holyoke, MA 01040
(413) 531-2213
attorneybartley195@gmail.com
Erica P. Bigelow Esq.
Rich May, P.C.
176 Federal Street
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 556-3877
(617) 391-5777
ebigelow@richmaylaw.com
Marianne C. Byrne Esq.
Blue Hills Bank
320 Norwood Park South
Norwood, MA 02062
(781) 702-5738
(781) 702-5728
mbyrne@bluehillsbank.com
John Jude Carpenter Esq.
85 Bennett Street
Boston (Brighton), MA 02135
(617) 878-2133
(617) 787-1986
jceltic@rcn.com
Kevin Q. Corridan Esq.
Corridan Law LLC
Five Wilbraview Drive
Wilbraham, MA 01095
(617) 981-3995
kqcorridan@gmail.com
Matthew S. Cote Esq.
Sherin and Lodgen, LLP - Boston Office
101 Federal Street, 30th Floor
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 646-2000
(617) 646-2222
mscote@sherin.com
Brian T. Cronin Esq.
Murphy PC
160 Federal Street, Floor 15
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 921-0009
bcronin@djmlawoffices.com
Lisa J. Delaney Esq.
Carvin & Delaney, LLC
44 Adams Street
Braintree, MA 02184
(781) 848-4140
(781) 843-4397
ldelaney@carvindelaney.com
Anthony E. DeSantis Esq.
Old Republic National Title Insurance Company - Andover Office
35 New England Business Center
Andover, MA 01810
(978) 684-3460
(978) 475-0085
adesantis@oldrepublictitle.com
Ashly Wayne Eikelberg Esq.
Law Offices of Ashly Wayne Eikelberg
P.O. Box 710304
Quincy (Squantum), MA 02171
(321) 277-8979
ashly@eikelberglaw.com
Ludovino P. Gardini Esq.
Perez Gardini LLC
Post Office Box 205
Somerville, MA 02143
(855) 337-8440
(866) 520-1233
ludo@gardinilaw.com
Laura T. Godine Esq.
Steffensen, Fleming & Associates, LLC
45 School Street, 6th Floor
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 523-7935
(617) 523-4719
lgodine@shdf-law.com
Michael J. Goldberg Esq.
Casner and Edwards, LLP
303 Congress Street, Second Floor
Boston, MA 02210
(617) 426-5900
(617) 426-8810
goldberg@casneredwards.com
Ward P. Graham Esq.
Old Republic National Title Insurance Company - Andover Office
35 New England Business Center
Andover, MA 01810
(978) 681-4063
(888) 593-7052
wgraham@oldrepublictitle.com
Matthew D. Hadge Esq.
Regnante, Sterio & Osborne, LLP
Edgewater Office Park
401 Edgewater Place, Suite 630
Wakefield, MA 01880
(781) 246-2525
(781) 246-0202
mhadge@regnante.com
Stephanie Lynn Haughey Esq.
Prince Lobel Tye LLP
One International Place, Suite 3700
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 456-8000
(617) 456-8100
shaughey@princelobel.com
Richard A. Hogan Esq.
CATIC - Rocky Hill Office
101 Corporate Place
Rocky Hill, CT 06067
(888) 473-3663
(860) 563-4833
RHogan@CATICACCESS.COM
Margaret Bevin Hoyt-Rupert Esq.
Warshaw, Di Carlo & Associates, P.C.
77 Newbury Street, Fourth Floor
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 262-7800
(617) 395-2706
mhoyt@warshawlaw.com
Anthony G. Keck Esq.
Anthony G. Keck & Associates
224 Essex Street
Salem, MA 01970
(978) 745-3353
(978) 744-5532
akeck@salem-law.com
E. Christopher Kehoe Esq.
Robinson & Cole, LLP - Boston Office
One Boston Place, Suite 2600
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 557-5905
(617) 557-5999
ckehoe@rc.com
Martin A. Loria Esq.
Adelson, Loria & Weisman, P.C.
20 Park Plaza, Suite 820
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 330-1625
(617) 330-1642
mloria@alwfirm.com
Michael Eric Malamut Esq.
New England Legal Foundation
150 Lincoln Street
Boston, MA 02111
(617) 695-3660
(617) 695-3656
michaelmalamut@nelfonline.org
Michael Eric Malamut Esq.
New England Legal Foundation
150 Lincoln Street
Boston, MA 02111
(617) 695-3660
(617) 695-3656
michaelmalamut@nelfonline.org
Jeremy J. Mudd Esq,
22 Iffley Road, Apartment Three
Boston (Jamaica Plain), MA 02130
(602) 885-4219
jmudd@law.gwu.edu
Arielle Mullaney Esq.
Warshaw, Di Carlo & Associates, P.C.
77 Newbury Street, Fourth Floor
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 262-7800
(617) 395-2706
amullaney@warshawlaw.com
Francis J. Nolan Esq.
Harmon Law Offices, P.C.
150 California Street
Post Office Box 610389
Newton, MA 02458
(617) 558-8418
(617) 243-4046
fnolan@harmonlaw.com
Daniel J. Ossoff Esq.
Rackemann, Sawyer & Brewster, P.C.
160 Federal Street
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 951-1121
(617) 542-7437
dossoff@rackemann.com
Greg D. Peterson Esq.
Casner and Edwards, LLP
303 Congress Street, Second Floor
Boston, MA 02210
(857) 241-1308
(617) 426-8810
peterson@casneredwards.com
Kerin E. Pintzopoulos Esq.
Enterprise Bank
153 Aldrich Road
Wilmington, MA 01887
(978) 656-5749
(978) 275-8627
Kerin.Pintzopoulos@ebtc.com
William J. Proia Esq.
Riemer & Braunstein, LLP
Three Center Plaza, Sixth Floor
Boston, MA 02108
(781) 273-2270
(617) 692-3462
wproia@riemerlaw.com
Edward A. Rainen Esq.
Rainen Law Office, P.C.
231 Sutton Street, Unit 2E
North Andover, MA 01845
(978) 975-4144
(978) 975-4149
erainen@rainenlaw.com
Jeff Ross Esq.
Ross Law Frim
554 Mass Ave, Unit B
Boston, MA 02118
(617) 338-4040
jross@ross-law.com
George C. Samiotes Esq.
65 East Plain Street
Wayland, MA 01778
(508) 572-5170
georgesamiotes@gmail.com
Paul Schmid
266 Shawmut Avenue, Apartment Two
Boston, MA 02118
(617) 872-0866
pschmid4@gmail.com
Laurel H. Siegel Esq.
Law Office of Laurel H. Siegel, LLC
60 State Street, Suite 700
Boston, MA 02109
(617) 878-2093
(617) 507-2668
laurel@lsiegellaw.com
Edward J. Smith Esq.
Law Office of Edward J. Smith
354 North Main Street, Unit 205
Andover, MA 01810
(617) 523-4090
(617) 723-5370
ejs@ejsmithrelaw.com
Wendy L. Spillane Esq.
53 Dracut Road
Hudson, NH 03051
(603) 440-5026
wlspillane@gmail.com
Jeffrey T. Stinson Esq.
Stinson Law, LLC
100 Cummings Center, Suite 304-D
Beverly, MA 01915
(978) 927-1100
(978) 338-0700
jstinson@stinsonfirm.com
Timothy C. Twardowski Esq.
Robinson & Cole, LLP - Boston Office
One Boston Place, Suite 2600
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 557-5900
(617) 557-5999
ttwardowski@rc.com
J. Patrick Walsh Esq.
Chicago and Commonwealth Land Title Insurance Companies - Franklin Street
265 Franklin Street, Eighth Floor
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 790-2111
(617) 556-9920
patrick.walsh@fnf.com
Christine E. Webster Esq.
Begley Webster LLC
1284 Elm Street
West Springfield, MA 01089
(413) 733-1400
cwebster@christinewebster.com