The UPL Committee fulfills one of the Association’s primary missions, combatting the unauthorized practice of law. The group has successfully led the Association through three UPL lawsuits: MCA, et al vs. Closings, Ltd, et al (1993), MCA, et al vs. Colonial Title & Escrow Company, et al (2001) and REBA vs. NREIS (2010).

The Committee remains vigilant in its efforts to protect the public from the unauthorized practice of law in real estate closings. Membership is limited, for the most part, to past officers of the Association. Although much of their work goes unreported to REBA members, the Committee is very active. The Committee also investigates complaints brought to its attention by REBA members.

This work is vital and all REBA members are strongly urged to continue to forward to the Association closing documents, including HUD settlement statements, which might indicate a violation of UPL laws.

Officers

Co-Chair
Thomas Bhisitkul Esq.
Moriarty Troyer & Malloy LLC
30 Braintree Hill Office Park, Suite 205
Braintree, MA 02184
(781) 817-4900
(781) 817-4910
tbhisitkul@lawmtm.com
Co-Chair
Thomas O. Moriarty Esq.
Moriarty Troyer & Malloy LLC
30 Braintree Hill Office Park, Suite 205
Braintree, MA 02184
(781) 817-4603
(781) 817-4910
tmoriarty@lawmtm.com

Members

Sami S. Baghdady Esq.
Baghdady Law Offices
382 Massachusetts Avenue
Arlington, MA 02474
(617) 646-5914
(781) 646-7149
sami@baghdadylaw.com
Jack Barry Gould Esq.
Gould & Gould LLP
62 Walnut Street
Wellesley, MA 02481
(781) 235-6363
781-235-3344
jack@gouldescrow.com
Dick Keshian Esq.
Kajko, Weisman & Colasanti, LLP
430 Bedford Street, Suite 190
Lexington, MA 02420
(781) 646-0600
(781) 861-1833
rkeshian@massfirm.com
Martin A. Loria Esq.
Adelson, Loria & Weisman, P.C.
20 Park Plaza, Suite 820
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 330-1625
(617) 330-1642
mloria@alwfirm.com
Michael D. MacClary Esq.
Burns & Levinson, LLP - Boston Office
125 Summer Street, 8th Floor
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 345-3305
(617) 345-3299
mmacclary@burnslev.com
Michael R. Maloney Esq.
SKM Title & Closing Services, P.C.
619 Washington Street
South Easton, MA 02375
(774) 250-1800
(508) 205-6243
mmaloney@weclosetheloan.com
Robert J. Moriarty Jr., Esq.
Marsh, Moriarty Ontell & Golder, P.C.
18 Tremont Street, Suite 900
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 778-5100
(617) 720-2565
rmoriarty@mmoglaw.com
Daniel J. Ossoff Esq.
Rackemann, Sawyer & Brewster, P.C.
160 Federal Street
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 951-1121
(617) 542-7437
dossoff@rackemann.com
Douglas W. Salvesen Esq.
Yurko, Salvesen & Remz, P.C.
One Washington Mall, 11th Floor
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 723-6900
(617) 723-6905
dsalvesen@bizlit.com