The Amicus Committee operates as a joint committee of REBA and the Abstract Club to write and present amicus curiae briefs relating to real estate law matters to the Massachusetts Appeals Court and the Supreme Judicial Court as well as, on occasion, to the Federal District Court of Massachusetts and the First Circuit Court of Appeals. Briefs are often submitted at the invitation of the court or, on other occasions, at the request of counsel to one of the litigants. In deciding whether to submit a brief, the Committee evaluates which party it believes should prevail in the case, whether the case involves issues with wide application in real estate law, and whether the case will have significant precedential value or, alternatively, whether the case is so fact-intensive that it will not provide a useful precedent in addressing similar issues in the future.

Because of the Committee’s nearly 50-year history, and in light of the respect afforded to REBA by the courts in the field of real estate law, the Amicus Committee is uniquely situated to play a role in assisting Massachusetts appellate courts in shaping and resolving long-standing complex issues in the real estate law arena, whether involving long-standing ambiguities in the common law applicable to title and conveyancing matters or complications of a more recent origin arising out of ongoing statutory or regulatory enactments in the ever-expanding areas of leasing, environmental and land use law. Through its involvement in each carefully selected case in which the Committee elects to submit a brief, the Committee has a very tangible and long-term impact upon the evolution of real estate law.

Membership on the Amicus Committee is by invitation. The Committee is largely comprised of current and former REBA committee chairs and select members of the Abstract Club, although briefs are often solicited from, and contributed by, the broader community of REBA members.

Officers

Co-Chair
Edward M. Bloom Esq.
Sherin and Lodgen, LLP - Boston Office
101 Federal Street, 30th Floor
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 646-2114
(617) 646-2222
embloom@sherin.com
Co-Chair
Daniel J. Ossoff Esq.
Rackemann, Sawyer & Brewster, P.C.
160 Federal Street
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 951-1121
(617) 542-7437
dossoff@rackemann.com

Members

Benjamin O. Adeyinka Esq.
Administrative Office of the Housing Court
Edward W. Brooke Courthouse
24 New Chardon Street, Sixth Floor
Boston, MA 02114
(617) 788-6517
(617) 788-8980
adeyinkaesq@gmail.com
Rahul Aggarwal Esq.
Three Stonehill Circle
Burlington, MA 01803
(781) 266-8076
jd.raggarwal@gmail.com
Edmund A. Allcock Esq.
Marcus, Errico, Emmer & Brooks, P.C.
45 Braintree Office Park
Braintree, MA 02184
(781) 843-5000

eallcock@meeb.com
Erica P. Bigelow Esq.
Rich May, P.C.
176 Federal Street
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 556-3877
(617) 391-5777
ebigelow@richmaylaw.com
Douglas J. Brunner Esq.
Law Offices of Douglas J. Brunner
1350 Main Street, Suite 216
Springfield, MA 01103
(413) 781-1202
(413) 734-2925
djb@titlebound.com
Ruth A. Dillingham Esq.
First American Title Insurance Company - Cape Cod Office
86 Willow Street, Unit Seven
Yarmouthport, MA 02675
(774) 251-3031
(508) 778-4771
rdillingham@firstam.com
Vicki S. Donahue Esq.
Cain Hibbard Myers, PC
66 West Street, Third Floor
Pittsfield, MA 01201
(413) 443-4771
(413) 443-7694
vdonahue@cainhibbard.com
Stephen M. Edwards Esq.
Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP - Boston Office
60 State Street
Boston, MA 02109
(617) 526-6067
(617) 526-5000
stephen.edwards@wilmerhale.com
Richard J. Gallogly Esq.
Rackemann, Sawyer & Brewster, P.C.
160 Federal Street
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 488-8175
(617) 542-7437
rgallogly@rackemann.com
Richard M. Golder Esq.
Marsh, Moriarty Ontell & Golder, P.C.
18 Tremont Street, Suite 900
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 742-1822
(617) 720-2565
rgolder@mmoglaw.com
The Hon. Mel L. Greenberg (ret.)
Highland Law
200 Highland Street
Worcester, MA 01609
(508) 479-8154
(508) 798-1863
mlg@highlandlawma.com
Sheila M. Hurley Esq.
First American Title Insurance Company - Boston Office
185 Dartmouth Street, Fifth Floor
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 225-1546
(617) 247-8487
smhurley@firstam.com
Kurt A. James Esq.
KJP Partners LLP
155 Federal Street, Suite 1302
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 409-5398
(617) 542-7437
kjames@kjppartners.com
Arthur P. Kreiger Esq.
Anderson & Kreiger LLP
50 Milk Street, 21st Floor
Boston, MA 02109
(617) 621-6540
(617) 621-6636
akreiger@andersonkreiger.com
Susan B. LaRose Esq.
WFG National Title Insurance Company - Franklin
1000 Franklin Village Drive, Suite 107
Franklin, MA 02038
(774) 232-0129

slarose@wfgnationaltitle.com
Charles N. Le Ray Esq.
Dain / Torpy
745 Atlantic Avenue, Fifth Floor
Boston, MA 02111
(617) 542-4800
(617) 542-4808
cleray@daintorpy.com
Martin A. Loria Esq.
Adelson, Loria & Weisman, P.C.
20 Park Plaza, Suite 820
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 330-1625
(617) 330-1642
mloria@alwfirm.com
Michael Eric Malamut Esq.
New England Legal Foundation
150 Lincoln Street
Boston, MA 02111
(617) 695-3660
(617) 695-3656
michaelmalamut@nelfonline.org
Michael Eric Malamut Esq.
New England Legal Foundation
150 Lincoln Street
Boston, MA 02111
(617) 695-3660
(617) 695-3656
michaelmalamut@nelfonline.org
Clive D. Martin Esq.
Robinson & Cole, LLP - Boston Office
One Boston Place, Suite 2600
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 557-5927
(617) 557-5999
cmartin@rc.com
Gregor I. McGregor Esq.
McGregor & Legere, P.C.
15 Court Square, Suite 500
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 338-6464
(617) 338-0737
gimcg@mcgregorlaw.com
Paul J. Mulligan Esq.
MassHousing
One Beacon Street, Fourth Floor
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 854-1380
(617) 854-1031
pmulligan@masshousing.com
Donald R. Pinto Jr., Esq.
Pierce Atwood LLP - Boston Office
100 Summer Street, Suite 2250
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 488-8100
(617) 824-2020
dpinto@pierceatwood.com
Christopher S. Pitt Esq.
Robinson & Cole, LLP - Boston Office
One Boston Place, Suite 2600
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 557-5907
(617) 557-5999
cpitt@rc.com
Mary K. Ryan Esq.
Nutter, McClennen & Fish, LLP - Boston Office
Seaport West
155 Seaport Boulevard
Boston, MA 02210
(617) 439-2212
(617) 310-9309
mryan@nutter.com
Catherine M. Scott Esq.
Peabody & Arnold LLP
Federal Reserve Plaza
600 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 6000
Boston, MA 02210
(617) 951-2100
(617) 951-2125
cscott@peabodyarnold.com
Richard M. Serkey Esq.
Winokur, Serkey & Rosenberg, P.C.
81 Samoset Street
Plymouth, MA 02360
(508) 746-1023
(508) 746-6967
rserkey@winokurlaw.com
Michelle T. Simons Esq.
Brecher, Wyner, Simons, Fox & Bolan, LLP
189 Wells Avenue, Suite 302
Newton, MA 02459
(617) 614-1500
(617) 614-1515
msimons@legalpro.com
F. Sydney Smithers IV, Esq.
Cain Hibbard Myers, PC
66 West Street, Third Floor
Pittsfield, MA 01201
(413) 443-4771
(413) 443-7694
fssmithers@cainhibbard.com
Lauren A. Solar Esq.
Hackett Feinberg P.C.
155 Federal Street, Ninth Floor
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 422-0200
(617) 422-0383
LAS@bostonbusinesslaw.com
Joel A. Stein Esq.
Law Office of Joel A. Stein
17 Accord Park Drive, Suite 106
Norwell, MA 02061
(781) 878-5600
(781) 843-1573
jstein@steintitle.com
Diane C. Tillotson Esq.
Hemenway & Barnes LLP
75 State Street, 16th Floor
Boston, MA 02109
(617) 227-7940
(617) 227-0781
dtillotson@hembar.com